Happy Mother’s Day, Mum!

It is mothers day already for 2014 – wow! I can still remember it like it was last week, running around for my siblings and myself getting flowers and liquorice for our mum. The year has flown!

I had an exciting project this week – I had an order for 300 red velvet cupcakes for a Mothers Day event at Door of Hope today. It was so much fun – haven’t had a big order like that since late last year. So this for me was great to do because it made me remember that I ‘still had it’. The thoughts that were going through my head whilst baking wasn’t to do with ‘getting the job done’ – it made me think about how incredible mothers are and how they have so much influence in our lives.

IMG_4198 IMG_4203 IMG_4205 IMG_4201

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset IMG_4200

It was such a blessing to be part of the celebration that was had at Church and I was and still am so overwhelmed by the comments made. It was my absolute pleasure, honour and privilege to be part of the creation of today!

IMG_4222 IMG_4228

IMG_4229

A mothers love is certainly a different kind of love – no one can give the love that a mother can. It is intentional I say ‘give’ because ‘Love’ is not a feeling – it is a physical action that takes effort and has a purpose.

When I think of a mothers love I think of the times when I have been so upset and all that can satisfy is a nice warm hug from my mum – I am sure many of you can relate. I remember many times when I was younger and I would trip and fall and some how hurt myself – and the only person I would call for was mum … simply because I knew she wouldn’t be far – she would be near.

The best thing about my mum is that no matter what the situation, she is always not far. Numbers of times she has had to leave work for some reason or other because of me – in high school it was dentist appointments and things like that mostly – but she just has the heart of “if my child is in need – I will drop my things and come -a- helpin’!” (i am now sitting here going – hmmmm I wonder if she only did that for me… haha! sorry sis and bro’s if this wasn’t the case with you -BUT I am sure it was)

You see – I have been truly blessed to have the mother I have. She is so supportive and that I am thankful for. Never has she once told me I couldn’t do something and come up with this incredibly drawn out excuse. When it has come to me asking my mum about my next move in life – her reaction has always been “you have to do what you feel you have to do” or “as long as you have found something that makes you happy”. Her words are so simple yet hold so much weight and truth – I love it! I also love her love of books – I wish I could read as much as she does and as fast as she does. Her love of murder mysteries is something that is quite contagious – I remember watching The Bill and Wire in the Blood some late friday nights. But to me – one of the most admirable thing about my mum is her love for her family.

Mum’s side of the family is quite a decent size – and us cousins growing up together has truly helped shape us the way we are today. There is not a time where there are two or more cousins in a room and the subject of us growing up together doesn’t come up. It is something we hold dear to us and love talking about. I personally love talking about it and the silly things we used to do together. But none of that would be possible if our parents love of their family didn’t exist. I am very grateful to have the model of that family to build upon and learn from.

So mum – this blog is dedicated to you.

Thank you for being who you are. For being so supportive, understanding and open to me, my beliefs and my dramatic changes of direction in life. I aspire to be a mum like you. Allowing your children to grow up into their own skin, writing their own story and finding people to help along the way. For being the shoulder to cry on, the person to laugh and talk with about how crazy everyone else is.

I know you have so much more to do and give of your life and I can’t wait to see what you will do. Be encouraged, be loved and be you – the best mum in the world.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Leave a Reply

